For Arts Sake 2010 + Tafe things

Tafe holidays have begun! It probably won’t be much of a holiday though as I have a bunch assignments to complete over the two weeks and need to work on my portfolio.

Yesterday I spent the afternoon painting something for the FRANS For Art’s Sake exhibition. FRANS is a not-for profit organisation working to enhance the lives of people with disabilities living in Sydney, Australia.  The For Art’s Sake exhibition is a fund raiser which began last year and has works by people with a disability, emerging and established artists, friends,family and community groups. I’m really glad I’ve been able to contribute something to this years exhibition. Below is the painting I will submit.

In other news I have been working on my mums website. I have structure of the website done for the most part but I am having a bit of trouble with the galleries and coding for the text. On Wednesday the teacher spent an hour helping me get one of the galleries to work. Even now it’s still buggy. The arrows on the side of the gallery aren’t displaying and I have no idea why. I think I might start from scratch and hope for the best. Another problem I have encountered is that the line-height doesn’t work when I view the website in Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari, but works in Dreamweavers design view. The code also worked when the teacher tried it in another website. I need to figure out what’s happening there as well.

For Typography I need to create a newsletter for a company. I started looking into doing newsletters for either the Queen Victoria Building or The Strand Arcade as I love their branding. The branding and advertising for both are designed by  PDC Creative, a wonderful creative agency in Sydney. The work they have done for the QVB and The Strand is the kind of work I would love do to. Below are some examples of their work specifically for the QVB and The Strand. You can checkout the rest of their portfolio HERE

FRANS - For Art's Sake

FRANS – For Art’s Sake

FRANS - For Art's Sake

FRANS – For Art’s Sake

The Strand

The Strand

Queen Victoria Building advertisement

Queen Victoria Building advertisement

The Strand photo shoot

The Strand photoshoot

