The cheesecake

saltedmain

A few weeks ago I visited a couple of friends, who cooked an amazing dinner of spaghetti and meatballs. I’ve never had it freshly made and I can’t believe I’ve gone so long without trying it. It was so good! I felt like I couldn’t move after eating it..I had completely stuffed my face.. but then they brought out the strawberry cheesecake and my second belly grumbled (you know, the one saved for desserts when you’ve eaten a lot of savoury food). I had forgotten how much I loved cheesecake. This cheesecake was exceptional as well- my friend had made her own chocolate biscuit base rather than follow the standard ‘crush up some biscuits’ method, which worked oh-so-well with the strawberry sauce she made. Being the generous person she is, she sent me home with some of her homemade strawberry sauce for my own baking pleasure.

I decided  then and there that I was going to make the cheesecake cupcakes over at Cooking Classy with the strawberry sauce. The recipe had been in the back of my mind, but now with the taste of cheesecake fresh in my mouth it was decided. By chance (no, not chance, more like ‘due to obsession..’) I also had some salted caramel sauce left over from the recipe over at two peas in a pod. So all I needed to do was make the cupcake.. which turned out to be super easy! I originally halved the recipe and made 12, but decided it wouldn’t be enough, so made two batches. This was an excellent call, as I couldn’t stop eating them and I don’t think the 12 would have lasted more than 24hours in my house. I have also been inspired by my friend, and think I might try my hand at making my own cheesecake..

strawberry cheesecake

